Look to Him

3 Aug

Recently, while driving in Puerto Rico, I was reminded of an all important fact – for a non-resident – one can easily get lost.

While I felt frustrated, helpless and even had a desire to simply give up, the truth is that while I felt lost, I really wasn’t.
– I could see where I was (GPS)
– I even knew what my ‘destination’ was
-BUT, I also realized that I didn’t know enough to find my way there

All-be-it abstract, I was reminded how important it truly is for those who believe to ‘Look to the Lord’.

We are a people who:
– Look for signs –But signs alone are not enough
– Are quick to look to each other – ‘what do I do?’ … ‘what would you do if you were me?’
-Look AT others … we compare and we criticize.
One of our greatest obstacles in this life is the feeling that we are alone, that even God has forgotten about us.
Isaiah 49:15,16 ‘Can a woman forget her nursing child, and not have compassion on the son of her womb? Surely they may forget, Yet I will not forget you. 16 See, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; your walls are continually before Me.’

Isaiah 51:3, allows us ‘the big picture’: ‘For the Lord will comfort Zion, He will comfort all her waste places, He will make her wilderness like Eden and her desert like the garden of the Lord; Joy and gladness will be found in it, thanksgiving and the voice of melody.’  

Did you notice something about the waste places, the wilderness and the desert ?
They were ‘hers – there will be many things in this life we must go through.
Times when we want and look for a way out!
While there are times when He comes to deliver and to rescue, He is more likely to ‘transform’ the situation rather than ‘take you out’ of that circumstance.

If you are ever to make it out alive, there are 3 scenarios in life which will require of you to ‘Look to the Lord’:

– The waste places:
Those ‘dry’ times when you look around and all you see is desolation, when the elements that surround you begin to affect you.
When your situation begins to consume you … stop and ‘Look to the Lord.  When you do, He will comfort you and restore the honor of being His child.
– The wilderness:
Times when you feel that you are ‘being driven’.  When all you do is ask yourself ‘why am I even doing this?’ … ‘is it worth it?’
In those moments, ‘Look to Him’ and He will restore the pleasure of doing what you were called and born to do.
– The desert:
Times that seem ‘sterile’ … non-productive, moments in life where ‘nothing is working out’.
In those moments, ‘Look to Him’ and He will produce in you something that you know came from Him.
*In your most difficult moments, look to Him and He will glorify Himself.

If we, His people, would look to Him, He will surely bring joy, gladness and thanksgiving.
When we stop looking ‘for change’ and simply ‘Look to the Lord’, He will give you His joy and with it bring a ‘glad result’.
Take a good look at Him and don’t ever look away!
______________________________________________________________________________
THE CORE: Isaiah 51:3

One Response to “Look to Him”

  1. marien August 3, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    What you posted is so true, we need to look to Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith. He is the perfect example. The Word says, that He never did anything on His own. He only spoke what His Father had taught Him. Imagine that! If Jesus, the Son of God, always looked unto His Father for everything. where does that leave us? Great blog! Really enjoy reading on the wilderness, the desert and waste places.
    Blessings

Leave a comment